recording a live band

The place for Cakewalk beginners to discuss everything Cakewalk.
sunshine

Post by sunshine » Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:09 pm

Ok, I have cakewalk home studio 2002, a computer and a band.....now I need to find out what soundcard I should buy to go in the 2cd computer I am going to buy for recording. I have played with the cakewalk program some, and think I can eventually learn what I need to know, but we want to do it as soon as we possibly can, so I need help from those of you that know. We have a 4 piece band and a powered mixer that is designed for studio use. I will be running our sound from it into the computer and cakewalk. Any advice or suggestions on any of it would be so greatly appreciated. Or if I need directed to another site? thanks

Gary

Post by Gary » Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:10 pm

Sunshine,
I'm pretty new at this stuff. :? You could record the whole band onto one track of audio just running an output from the mixer into the soundcard.Using the right output on the mixer of course. Unfortunatly you wouldn't be able to do any mixing after the fact. It's good for getting quick ideas down though. If you are not using electronic drums it wouldn't be a bad idea to use another mixer for a sub/mix(for the drums).

Check out this site
http://www.m-audio.net

there's some gear in there that will do exactly what you need. You ultimately need to record the complete band on seperate tracks.

hope this helps

GaryD

sunshine

Post by sunshine » Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:08 pm

:shock: There is so much info out there.......just wading thru it is a full time job. And who knew being a sound tech would be only the beginning....... :roll:

Brian D

Post by Brian D » Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:56 pm

Sunshine, are you wanting to record each instrument on its own track, or the band as a whole. There will be difference in which card you purchase.