Midi Tones Keep Changing

Use this forum to discuss Midi Issues as they relate to Cakewalk.

Midi Tones Keep Changing

Postby Gibby » Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:03 am

I'm a midi newbie who uses Music Creator and typically do audio thru a mic'd amp. My challenge is...when I record a (keyboard) midi track to my music creator and go on to record another midi track: when I change the tone for midi track 4 (for example) midi track 3 changes with it. Based on what I'm doing all my midi tones end up sounding the same. What am I missing? I tried saving the file, closing out the file, turning off the keyboard etc. Nothing seems to work. Can anyone offer me some advice. Thanks in advance.
Gibby
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:16 am
Location: D-Town

Re: Midi Tones Keep Changing

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Postby Special-K » Fri Nov 07, 2003 11:50 am

Did you copy track 3 to track 4 or record them separately?

I seem to recollect having trouble like this in Cakewalk when copying notes. I'd record several notes in a bar, copy and paste it to the next bar (same track) then change a note in the first bar and the second one would change too. it was like the notes were "linked" together somehow,
ie changing one note would change the other.

Maybe the same thing is happening here but in a different track.

I think i got round this by changing the copy parameters.

Cant verify this at present as am at work
Special-K
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: UK

Tones Changing

Postby Gibby » Fri Nov 07, 2003 1:07 pm

Thanks for the reply...I am recording them as seperate tracks - sometimes at different times after computer/keyboard has been off.
Gibby
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 3:16 am
Location: D-Town

Postby andychap » Sat Nov 08, 2003 9:36 pm

It is a linking problem of sorts and I can't explain it but I can make a suggestion.

At the start of each track, insert a bank/patch change message.

Highlight the track to change. Insert menu > bank/patch change > choose the bank and patch you require form the drop down windows and press OK.

Do this to each track and they should remain the same all the time.
andychap
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: UK

instrument = Sound, tone

Postby Butch » Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:32 pm

you can put all your midi sequencing on one track, each time you record an instrument = Sound, tone: you need a progam change number and midi channel for each sound you record..

try this
set track 1 to midi channel 1 and record the part you want
set track 2 to midi channel 2 and record the part you want
set track 3 to midi channel 3 and record the part you want
Drums are all ways on midi channel 10
Butch
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:21 pm
Location: USA Florida

Postby GretscGuy » Fri Nov 28, 2003 12:37 am

Also, make sure your synth is set to 'multi' mode. otherwise it may not be allowing you to use more than one voice.
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA



Similar topics


Return to Midi Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron

Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Cakewalk Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC