HELP! Cannot record from synth

Use this forum to discuss Midi Issues as they relate to Cakewalk.

HELP! Cannot record from synth

Postby vinnywolf » Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:37 pm

All I am trying to do is record a song from my Kurzweil K2000v3 into Cakewalk Pro Audio 9.03. I have each track in Cakewalk set to the corresponding MIDI channel on the Kurzweil and armed. i have tried to record using the clock on the Kurzweil and selecting MIDI sync in Cakewalk and using the internal clock in Cakewalk and just playing the song on the Kurzweil. It acts like it's recording, but when I stop it there is no data on any of the tracks.
If I can ever record the song, I would then like to save it as an .mp3 or .wav file. I hope I don't have as much of a hassle trying to do that. This is so frustrating!

Thanks in advance for any help,

Vinny
vinnywolf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:59 pm

Re: HELP! Cannot record from synth

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Postby GretscGuy » Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:50 pm

Vinny,
I am assuming the sequence is saved in the K2000's internal sequenser. If you want to make an mp3 out of it, why not arm a stereo audio track and take a stereo out from the 2000's main outs and record that then export it as an mp3 or wav?
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Not sure how..

Postby vinnywolf » Tue Feb 10, 2004 5:41 pm

Are you familiar with Cakewalk Pro Audio 9? I cannot figure out how to record either from MIDI or directly from the stereo input on my sound card (Creative Sound blaster 128). I have the Kurz plugged in to the sound card input and connected through MIDI (in/out). What do I select for Sorce, Port and channel when trying to record?

Thanks,

Vinny
vinnywolf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:59 pm

Postby GretscGuy » Tue Feb 10, 2004 11:06 pm

I had a very similar setup a few months back - K2000, PA9.

First - you want to define the K2000 in PA9.
- go to Cakewalk.com and do a search for instrument definitions
- if you have a K2000VP download the k2500 definition - the 2000VP has
the 2500 sounds loaded in it. If you're not sure - check patch 55 - if it's
garage drums you have a VP.
- Click on Options/Instruments/Define
- Import the definition you downloaded
- Highlight the midi port your K2000 is hooked up to on the left hand side
of the list, highlight Kurzweil K2500 (or 2000) and click DEFINE

Now go back to the main window
- Arm the track
- Select the port you defined the K2000 on a moment ago
- Select 'Omni'
- Select the midi channel you want to record
- Select the bank and bank number of the sound you want to play from
the K2000

You are now all set to record midi

To record audio from your K2000's internal sequenser:

1- The midi port doesn't need to be connected to your pc (it can be but it's not nessesary)

2- plug the main outs of your K2000 into your soundcard. For your particular card you will need a 'y cord' with two mono 1/4" jack to a 1/8" stereo jack.

3- Arm the track you want to record on

4- For port select 'stereo creative' (basicly stereo/soundcard you want to use)

5- Hit record in PA9

6- Hit play on the k2000

Hope this helps

Good LucK!
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Thanks for all the help, but...

Postby vinnywolf » Sat Feb 14, 2004 4:55 pm

It's just not working. I found the instrument definition for the k2000, but mine is a k2000v3 and the definitions dont match. Not only that, but the song I wrote on the Kurzweil uses some default sounds and some that I imported, so that definition wouldn't match anyway. I do appreciate the time you took to type out all the instructions though.

Is there any software that someone can recommend that will allow me to convert a song from the sequencer on my Kurzweil to a MP3 or WAV file? I can't believe that I spent all that money on this Cakewalk software and it wont let me export the song to another audio format after I record from my Kurzweil's sequencer.

Vinny
vinnywolf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:59 pm

Postby GretscGuy » Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:18 pm

Vinny,
You won't be able to use the midi engine on your soundcard to play back the kurzweil's sequence. This is not Cakewalk's fault - Kurzweil (and other synth companies) have to use other formats to let you have 3 snares and 4 kicks on a drum map.

You need to define and set up your Kurzweil to work with Cakewalk. Doing this is not a huge issue but does take some time. Have you tried looking in your manual - it gives a pretty detaiuled instruction.

Good Luck!
GG
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Postby vinnywolf » Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:28 pm

Is this just with Cakewalk Pro Audio or would I have to do the same thing with Sonar? What if I used an Edirol to record the song directly out of the Kurzweil into Cakewalk? Would I still have to define the Kurzweil?


Thanks again for all the info,

Vinny
vinnywolf
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:59 pm



Similar topics


Return to Midi Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Cakewalk Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC