Sonar 3 intialization

This forum is dedicated to Sonar discussions.

Sonar 3 intialization

Postby Bluesmiester » Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:58 pm

I have an odd problem and a work around so I am not down but I am curious. Here goes ....

When I launch Sonar 3 everything loads up and appears to be ready to work but when I hit the play icon I get no sound what so ever.

No audio or midi playback. The play marker moves but the audio engine icon is NOT green. If I lauch Sonar then launch Sound Forge ( I have both Sound Forge 7 and Sound Forge XP Sound Studio 5 and it does not matter which one I use ) and play just a bit of an audio file Sonar will then work normally. The audio engine icon goes green. This always works ... why is what I want to know and yes , maybe a fix would be nice too ...

My enviroment : P4 2.4 Gig / 512 Meg / WinXP pro / Sonar 3 using ASIO
My platform is Dell 4600 if it matters.
I am running an Aardvark Lx-6 sound card.
All other audio applications work normally.

Lots of smart and helpful replies here ...
Hoping you all can help figure this out.

By the way ... Cakewalk tech support is stumped on this one.

The Bluesmiester
Bluesmiester
 

Re: Sonar 3 intialization

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Postby GretscGuy » Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:10 am

I would suspect your ASIO drivers first. What hapens if you load MME or WDM drivers and attempt to listen.

Are you using a 100% genuine version of Cakewalk? Kind of sounds like a Warez problem.

Is your soundcard enabled to share drivers in Sonar? Try enableing this and then go to sounds and select a scheme with NO SOUND for windows. Restart and see what happnes.

Just a few quick thoughts.
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Postby GretscGuy » Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am

I would suspect your ASIO drivers first. What hapens if you load MME or WDM drivers and attempt to listen.

Are you using a 100% genuine version of Cakewalk? Kind of sounds like a Warez problem.

Is your soundcard enabled to share drivers in Sonar? Try enableing this and then go to sounds and select a scheme with NO SOUND for windows. Restart and see what happnes.

Just a few quick thoughts.
GretscGuy
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:26 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Postby bluesmiester » Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:52 pm

100% Original Cakewalk Purchased from the company store on-line.
I have been buying my cakewalk products this way for a long time.
I have serveral :D

MME and WDM don't work nearly as well so I do not use them anymore.
bluesmiester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:04 pm

Postby bluesmiester » Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:53 pm

100% Original Cakewalk Purchased from the company store on-line.
I have been buying my cakewalk products this way for a long time.
I have serveral :D

MME and WDM don't work nearly as well so I do not use them anymore.
bluesmiester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:04 pm

Postby bluesmiester » Tue Aug 17, 2004 3:41 pm

The same thing happens using the MME drivers but I get the extra thrill of long latency too ... No fun !!!
bluesmiester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:04 pm



Similar topics


Return to General Sonar - X1, X2, Producer, Home Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Cakewalk Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC