midi - audio

Use this forum for all technical issues.
tonki

Post by tonki » Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:37 pm

Hello

Im really new to all the midi stuff but i created my first (midi) song
and i cant find a way to export it as wav or mp3 file.
Im using Sonar and i listen the midi with my Casio ctk-800 keyboard.
So i have several midi tracks using keyboard output (MK USB OUT).

I wonder how can i record that so it becomes midi or mp3. Im using Realtek AC97 soundcard and i didnt find a way to hear the music with my stereo speakers
So i hope that there are experts here who can explain to me how do i conver my song to mp3

thanx

andychap

Post by andychap » Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:22 pm

Tutorial Number 8 at the beginning of the manual or on line help files explains it all.
Tutorial 8—Using Soft Synths
A software synthesizer is a software program that produces various sounds through your audio
interface when the soft synth program receives MIDI data from a MIDI controller or sequencer
program. SONAR supports all major varieties of software synthesizers, including DXi, ReWire, and VST
Instruments (you can use VST instruments by running SONAR’s included VST Configuration Wizard to
configure the VST instruments). SONAR has a Synth Rack view to make inserting a soft synth a onestep
process.
Cakewalk TTS-1 is a great example of a soft synth, so let’s use it for our tutorial. Because this soft synth
supports the mult-output format, it has multiple outputs (4), and you can record the movement of some
of its controls as automation. You probably installed Cakewalk TTS-1 when you installed SONAR. To
make sure, open a project that has at least one audio track, right-click the FX field of an audio track to
open the plug-in popup menu, and look under Soft Synths. You should see Cakewalk TTS-1 listed. If
you don’t, insert your SONAR CD into your CD drive, install the software synthesizers including
Cakewalk TTS-1 to your hard drive, and restart SONAR.
This tutorial covers the following: